My first job teaching, in Korea.

My first job teaching, in Korea.

I am a sixth-year Ph.D. Education candidate at the University of California, Irvine, currently writing my dissertation on international students and their use of institutional social network sites. I am particularly interested in issues of support and retention in higher education, and always ask: “How can we better support international students?” My work with students is also my passion; I love being in the classroom.

In addition to conducting research, I have taught and worked as a Teaching Assistant and Teaching Associate for various undergraduate education courses at UC Irvine, including Education 126: Ethics in Education, Education 334: Literacy and Technology and Education 134: Teaching English Internationally, all of which I have also taught as the primary instructor. I also frequently give guest lectures. Additionally, I was selected at UC Irvine as one of 16 Pedagogical Fellows, when I gave teaching workshops and trained incoming Ph.D. students on how to become effective Teaching Assistants.

I have also previously taught freshman writing and English language (ESL/EFL) courses at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, and Sahmyook University in Seoul, Korea. I enjoyed tutoring first-generation undergraduate students at the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) at Cal Poly Pomona, and Master’s and Ph.D. students at UC Irvine’s Graduate Resource Center.

Speaking with students

Speaking with students at UC Irvine.

Although it may not appear so, I am trans-national (some would call me a Third Culture Kid). Cumulatively, I have lived in five continents and traveled to 46 countries. After receiving my bachelor’s degree, I moved to South Korea to teach EFL before moving to California to enroll in and complete a Master’s degree at Cal Poly Pomona.

Research-wise, I have presented at CIES (Comparative and International Education Society), TESOL (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages), CATESOL (California TESOL), and FIGT (Families in Global Transition) conferences, and have also written for International Educator and Language Magazine.

My personal interests include traveling, photography, videography, reading, writing, hiking, camping, swimming, surfing, rock climbing and cooking vegetarian food. Feel free to check out some of my photography on Flickr.

Other Websites: